Dedicated to the Creation of Art and Its Promotion in the Community

180 Poplar Avenue Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada R2L 2C3

  E-Mail HERE

About Us

Local Colour Art Group was formed in 1998 to serve Manitoba artists.  To learn about
Our History, how our group started, etc, click here!

The group consists of about 90 members, working in a variety of styles and mediums.

Local Colour Art Group holds annual art shows and sales in spring and fall of each year, and participates in other art shows throughout the year. The group also holds a variety of workshops and brings in guest artists for demonstrations.

Visitors are welcome to visit our art studio and display gallery at 180 Poplar Avenue (@ Brazier St) in Winnipeg, MB.

Mission Statement

Local Colour Art Group is an organization of artists dedicated to the creation of art, and its promotion in the community.

Our Mandate

The Club strives to provide a forum for members in which to gather to paint and to share their interests, skills and experiences. It is dedicated to the development of its members through the provision of regular learning opportunities in the form of classes and discussion groups, and through the organization of regular art shows.

Members are encouraged to work in a variety of styles and mediums, and while the primary focus is on the art of painting, individual artistic expression through work in photography, porcelain, wood and clay is also welcomed.

The Club's objectives include community outreach. This entails the promotion of art appreciation by way of periodic art shows, the extension of participation in instructional programs to non-members, and the facilitation of other initiatives that encourage members of the community to participate in art activity.

2018 / 2019 Executive

President: Joy Matsubara
Vice-President: Janet Dent
Treasurer/Membership: Linda McCallum
Secretary: Janice Giasson

Board of Directors

External Exhibitions / 20th Anniversary - Anne Layman

Workshops - Briony Haig

Publicity / Website- Fred Perchaluk
Cheer Coordinator - Lynn Stoesz

​Ruth Baxter


Past President - Rick Emslie
​Website Coordinator - Deanne Miller
Newsletter - Jo Smoley
Facebook - Ruth Kamenev / Andrea Mantler
Library - Joan Duma